Thailand: Cliff Jumping in Koh Tao

Koh Tao was my favourite island, not only because of its character and beauty,  but also because of its hikes, and the day-to-day excursions you could partake in if you felt like leaving the beach. 

More often than not, I didn’t feel like leaving the beach, but one morning one of the hostel staff had a day off and was heading cliff jumping, and I jumped at the chance (get it?!) to join him (the organized trip by the hostel was a pricey $1500THB, and there was no way I could afford that given I had already paid $1000THB for a Sunday Funday boat cruise two days prior).

So off we went on a new adventure, up a massive hill with a taxi to the hiking trail entry point that would lead us to these beautiful cliffs. Not 10 minutes later, though, I was seriously questioning why I had decided to do this. I mean, I could’ve been on a beach eating a burrito and drinking a beer … But instead I was drenched in sweat in thirty-some degree humidity, climbing a massive hill to get to 10 meter cliffs that I was going to fling myself from … cool eh? 

The beach burrito beer I could have had .

 

During the hike, I chatted as best I could with my fellow travel mates, and eventually accepted the waterfalls of sweat that were flowing down my back, face, legs, arms, and … well, you get the idea. Hiking in 36 degree, 80% humidity is … fucking nuts even with the beautiful views.  

Happily for me, when we got up to the spot it was stunning, and I couldn’t wait to jump in.

    
 

We jumped from 8m, 10m, and 14m heights, lounged, listened to tunes, and delayed our hour-long, torture-hike back as long as possible. Then, after unsuccessfully trying to wave down boats that were passing by to get us back, we begrudgingly made our way back through the jungle to town.  

In summary, as much as it was wet and gross, I really enjoyed being active and meeting such a great group of people. It was worth it, and so was the mango smoothie I devoured afterward. Physical activity while traveling? Check!

 

Leave a Reply

