Life Lesson: Hitting the reset button

I’m almost done my first semester of the Midwifery Education Program at McMaster. I feel as though I’ve been floating through it, trying to survive every day of this new student/grown-up life hybrid.

I’m not going to lie, I have had challenging moments. With my Dad’s death anniversary encroaching, the winter days getting darker and colder (there’s a -19 degree windchill right now, that’s NOT okay), and terrible results on some exams … I’ve questioned whether I have the stuff to do this.

There has been one huge guiding light of course, and that is that I’ve never questioned my desire to be a midwife. There’s a sense of certainty there that keeps me grounded, and that keeps me trying. But the program is a professional, medical program and … it’s hard!

Not to mention, on top of the academic rigor, I feel as though I’m learning all over again who I am and where I fit, how smart I am (if I’m smart at all) and whether I’m clever enough to get by. I thought I was done with that learning curve, but I guess it’s a life long journey.

So, with only three weeks to go, I stumbled upon a friend’s Facebook post of Jim Carey’s commencement speech at Maharishi University.

His words are a perfect “reset button” for anyone struggling to realign. I sure needed a good reminder of what’s important.

If you’re in need of a reset, take a listen. You won’t regret it.

One response

  1. Pingback: Travel Canada – Vineland, Ontario. Yep, That’s a Place. | Disclosed Moments

Leave a Reply

