Canada: Northern Ontario

Northern Ontario comprises 87% of the province’s land mass, but only represents 6% of the population. Which is nice, because that’s kind of what makes it special.

AN UPDATE ON US:

– My three house plants are sort of surviving. My aunt guilted me into bringing one (a cactus my Dad apparently raved about), and the other two I just like. I’ve never been one to keep plants alive, but I thought I’d give it a try being that my Dad loved them.

– My cat hates us. After the night in a tent in Manitoba, she was done with the car rides. On occasion, a box would topple from the mound beside her, but luckily we positioned things such that the box would never hit her. She hated it nonetheless.

IMG_6495.JPG

– My brother and I got into one fight, and I’m not even sure why.

– We crashed a wedding shower. Kat from Hawaii just happened to be in Ontario for her brothers wedding. When I told her we would be passing through Kenora, we quickly planned to see each other for an hour. Naturally, the only way to do this was to crash her brother’s fiancee’s wedding shower. We were welcomed openly by all the ladies (even my brother was!), and jumped in the lake. It was so nice to see Kat, and I wish the visit could have been more than an hour.

IMG_6680.JPG

IMG_6703.JPG

IMG_6719.JPG

– We saw Rob and Debbie again in Dryden! Treated to lake trout, homemade blueberry pie, and a beautiful lake kayak … I couldn’t have asked for more. The company was excellent, and I’m so grateful to know this amazing couple that just opens its door willingly anytime I drive through. To me, and my cat and brother no less!

IMG_6705.JPG

Three lakes in one day. Life is good.

 

AN UPDATE ON WHERE WE ARE:

Manitoba border to Dryden: 4 hours. You pass a series of over 1,000 lakes. It’s beautiful. After Dryden, it gets kind of ugly for a while (by Canadian standards) and gas prices sky rocket to $1.60/litre. You’re pretty far north now; this isn’t Kansas anymore.

Dryden to Thunderbay: 4 hours (towing a trailer, with a car), with two stops for gas.

Thunderbay to Sault Ste. Marie: up to 12 hours. You pass through White River (home of Winnie the Pooh!) and a mini-mountain pass lined with lakes. Last year we drove this part in the dark, so we couldn’t appreciate its unbelievable beauty; a long haul drive, but gorgeous (bonus: you pass by Dad lake, followed immediately by Mom lake. Kind of awesome?).

– On both my trips I have seen more WARNING MOOSE signs than should be legal … but I have not seen a moose. I believe they don’t exist.

dryden

IN SUMMARY: Ontario is really big. I’m ready to be in my house now.

One response

  1. Pingback: Traveling Canada: Things I learned | Disclosed Moments

Leave a Reply

