South America – Cuy (Queeeee)

Oh, guinea pig. I knew I wanted to try you, at least once, but I wasn’t sure what to expect.

photo 5 (1)

I ate that.

After getting to Cusco, Kim and I heard that Pariwana guests get a 10% discount at the Pachapampa restaurant in the San Blas neighbourhood, so we trekked our way over to give it a go. We had a couple of drinks before we took the plunge.

The cuy/guinea pig at Pachapampa is slow roasted for 45 minutes (as opposed to deep fried on the street), after which they bring you the entire thing on a plate for photos (they know we touristas are general losers?).

photo 4 (2)   photo 2 (3)

After the photo shoot, they take it away and prepare it for eating. Our waiter Raul told us to “get in there and suck the meat off the bones”, but after picking off as I could, I just couldn’t bring myself to SUCK meat of a teeny-tiny rib.

Yuck.

photo 3 (3)

Tastes just like chicken?

The meat itself was actually deliciously prepared with wonderful seasonings, and had I been able to get over the tiny bones, tiny feet, and tiny head aspect I think I would’ve really enjoyed it.

 

My advice: eat it when it’s hot and order a side of alpaca steak bites. Now THOSE are delicious!

photo 1 (2)

 

Leave a Reply

