Telenovela episode 7 – The One At The Airport

So I know a ‘Mexicans’ update is overdue.

The day they left, we had mixed emotions.  My aunt – my beautiful and lovely aunt – was leaving us.  She was a staple in our lives for what seemed like forever.  From the instant she got here, we loved her.  She took care of us in ways that were unspoken, by burdening herself with drama so that we could have more quality time with my Dad.  What a woman. I almost can’t even remember her being here now, it seems like that was a different life … was that really just 2.5 months ago?

Oh, Mexican #2 left as well.

Imagine now – two Mexicans approach a security gate. For some reason they each choose different lines, even though exactly zero other people are nearby. (Why? Because we’re in KAMLOOPS). My aunt looks nervously at me after an officer addresses her in English, and so in Spanish I tell her to put her bags on the carousel thing. She does this, and then proceeds to walk right past the security officer while then choosing to physically lift a plastic blockade-gate out of her way.

I wonder what she must have been thinking … “Hello officer. I’m so afraid of your English-ness that I’m going to walk right past you and into the sign that says, DO NOT GO BY ME. I don’t want to go through that metal detector, so I think I’ll find a way around it.”

Chaos ensues. I start waving my hands frantically and calling her back in Spanish while the officers freak out like there is some sort  of bomb emergency and we only have seconds left to live. I almost got mad at them for being so crazy to her, but instead I just said, “Hey buddy, its her first time flying and she doesn’t speak English, give her a break ya?”

This wasn’t a day for me to get mad at anyone.

I re-direct my aunt to go through the metal detector; she passes. She turns to wave at me and starts beaming like a little kid; just like my Dad used to. It melts me.

teresa and jesus

While I’m busy melting, here comes Mexican #2. She looks like she’s going to have a nervous breakdown, but places her bags on the carousel thingy, and then …
DOES THE EXACT SAME THING SHE JUST SAW MY AUNT DO.

My brother behind me snorts uncontrollably, and while I didn’t laugh, I will say that it was kind of an unbelievable thing to watch these two clueless women walk through a podunk YKA security gate.

I walk forward, basically now at the metal detector myself, look apologetically at the officer and clarify for Mexican#2 in Spanish that no, you cannot walk through gates with big red, “X’s” on them. He takes her through the metal detector.

Now I don’t know about you, but at this point, I’m filled with extreme concern.  Will they even get on the plane itself?!

When I get home I can’t sleep. I am consumed with worry about their Vancouver transfer.  These women should not be left alone in airports. I check the YVR departures like it’s the only cure for my malady, until finally the status changes to, “Departed”. I don’t let myself get too excited.

And then. Four hours later, some guy who stars on Border Security from Immigration hasn’t called me. My brother and I high-five.

The Mexicans, my friends, are gone.

Leave a Reply

