Things changed

Last week my aunt gave me the gift of coming to Vancouver one more time. I went to a concert, felt love from my friends, and got to enjoy the Vancouver sunshine. Vancouver showed off for me.

20131204-201531.jpg

The Mexicans were due to leave on Thursday, because at the end of the day having Mexican #2 here is too much for my Dad and our family.  I don’t say this to be rude (and it actually pains me to feel this way as a human) but dealing with a palliative situtation AND dealing with someone who has a mental illness is not what I call easy. It has tested me in ways I can’t begin to describe in a blog, but ultimately I am stronger because of it. That’s my takeaway.

Today. Everything changed.

I got to Kamloops to a Dad in the hospital with pneumonia. It was always a risk, but it’s scary now that it’s here. He panics because he can’t breathe; it’s heart wrenching. I can only soothe him and use elastin techniques to calm him. He’s on high-pressure oxygen (a mask with oxygen blowing in his face) but if it comes to it we will not intubate (put a tube down to help him breathe).

Is this it?

This is so fucking scary.

Please let the antibiotics work. He wanted to be at home.

Leave a Reply

