Home Stretch

Armed with gas, we entered civilization again.  We entertained ourselves by listening to This American Life podcasts, which made us rethink what calamari is actually made of.  Pig “parts” or squid? You decide.

As for me, I’m no longer taking any chances with calamari.

We pulled into Ikea as it was closing, so I wasn’t able to buy myself some furniture.  Little did we know that Ontario literally shuts down on stat holidays, and that I would be SOL for house supplies (i.e. a mattress) the following day.  

(But seriously, whats up with Ontario? Everything closes.  Grocery stores.  Even Wal-Mart. Hamilton even has a Labour Day parade?).

When we got to Toronto, I navigated us through seven lanes traffic.  Traffic here isn’t as congested, but its FAST with high volume, and includes special, wonderful, amazing merging lanes that come out of the blue.  Don’t worry, we only cut off two semi trucks …

We then arrived in Hamilton at 7:30pm!

The excitement didn’t last, because we quickly started sweating to death while unloading the trailer and lugging boxes up 3 flights of stairs.  It’s so humid in Hamilton, I didn’t believe it when my friends told me, but now I will never again complain that Vancouver is muggy. It’s just not.  We also couldn’t find the pump for my air mattress, so we got creative with the air conditioner … who said we weren’t resourceful women?

Being resourceful to get some sleep.  I'm still not sure what the hose is for?

Being resourceful to get some sleep. I’m still not sure what the hose is for?

Alexi and I then went for dinner and celebratory drinks, because the fridge didn’t offer much.  We sat on a balcony that had a microphone on it.  Do you think the amateur comedians that later used that microphone were good, mediocre, or really bad?

Unpacked but no supplies except for cat food.  Guess we have to go for dinner!

Unpacked but no supplies except for cat food. Guess we have to go for dinner!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

