Beginning

So after seven years of Marketing and Communications at an electrical utility in BC, I’ve decided to pack up my life and become a midwife.

Initially, my 18 year-old university self was full of ambition and wanted to be an obstetrician. Fast forward a few years, a few failed attempts at entry to Canadian medical schools, and I decided to continue with my summer job and climb the marketing ladder.  As it turns out, I had an aptitude for experiential marketing.  But in the end, passion overtook aptitude, and I just couldn’t shake the feeling that I needed to be in health care and work with women/babies.

As you can imagine, telling people  in marketing that I wanted to be a midwife really confounded them.  So, I found myself repeating the following:

  1. I have a science degree with honours. So yes, this decision makes sense, because I am also a doula in my spare time.
  2. Midwifery is a 4 year degree, not a 3 month certificate.  As it turns out, birth is complicated and requires some solid training that you can’t get by singing Kumbaya for a few weeks.
  3. I am not a hippie.
  4. I got into McMaster.  Yes, there is a school in BC, but they didn’t want me and they base their program off of the one I did get into so maybe that worked out for the best.

Leaving BC, my comfortable job with a pension, and my amazing co-workers, family, and friends was hard.  But luckily for me I have a great foundation to come back to in four years.  In the meantime, people have asked me to keep them posted on my progress and several have requested a blog. So you win, “people”.

Things you will see from me:

  1. Reasonably quick posts.  I hate blogs that try to be novels.
  2. Photos, because photos are awesome.
  3. Sarcasm.
  4. A lack of oversharing. You don’t need to know ALL of the details.
  5. At least two posts per week  (unless life gets busy, in which case, I lied).
  6. More content than just midwifery, because I’m sure I’ll lose all males.

There’s a lot of pressure when you have a blog, and I’m still not sure I should have one.  I’m not going to pretend like my life is so interesting that I will have years of content ahead, because it might only be observations of my first year living in Ontario.  Nonetheless, I hope you find the posts interesting enough to follow and comment.   In the end, I know for sure I’ll at least have an audience of one …

3 responses

  1. I am officially following my first blog! Well done Sonia…thanks for the non novel approach and the best pictures I’ve ever seen – that’s almost made me recover from your leaving on Monday! Absolutely awesome! xxx la

  2. Pingback: Level 4: Rough start, rough feels | Disclosed Moments

Leave a Reply

